Justin Schroeder Student/Athlete Achievement Scholarship

Qualified students may apply for the Justin Schroeder Memorial MCYSA Student/Athlete Achievement Award
by completing the application and submitting it to the MCYSA Selection Committee.

Applications are due on or before April 1, 2017.

Please mail your completed questionnaire to:

Mr. Richard Naponelli
MCYSA Justin Schroeder Scholarship
5612 Meadowbrook Lane
Crystal Lake, IL 60014

Individuals are eligible if they meet all of the following criteria:
  • Currently enrolled at an accredited college or university under-graduate program, or is currently a High School Senior who will be attending an accredited college or university in the fall semester.
  • Participated as a rostered player on a Host Team in the 15 year old World Series in Crystal Lake, Illinois, or served as a volunteer or participated in the Home Stay Program for the tournament.
  • Are currently in the upper half of your High School Class or have a 2.5 GPA at your college or university.
Please click here to download the attached application form.

If you are selected as a finalist for this award, your essay or excerpts from your essay may be used in future MCYSA promotional material. This decision is at the discretion of the MCYSA Board of Directors.

If you are selected as a finalist, you will be required to substantiate your High School class ranking or your college G.P.A..

Previous Winners

Year Award Winner Team
2016 Frank Woods
CL Babe Ruth
Vince Lovergine
CL Cardinals
  Michael Koscielniak
CL Bombers
Michael Humphrey
CL Babe Ruth
Brad Quinlan
Home Stay, CL Cardinals
Jason DeCicco Volunteer, CL Cardinals
2015 Eric Lonigro Lake in the Hills Thunder
Ryan Grannemann Crystal Lake Cardinals


Michael Tobin Crystal Lake Cyclones
Michael Avella Crystal Lake Cardinals
John Carone Home Stay, Illinois (Cary) Stix
Daniel Tenayuca Volunteer, Lake in the Hills Thunder
2014 Michael Decker LITH Thunder
  Luke Francis CL Babe Ruth
  Tanner Larkins CL Cardinals
  Timothy Hubner CL Cyclones
  Katie O'Connor Home Stay
2013 Tyler Kendall CL Babe Ruth
Dylan Kissack LITH Thunder
Carissa Polo Volunteer
Elizabeth Zacher Home Stay
  John Kaimakis CL Babe Ruth
  Jordan Getzelman LITH Thunder
2012 Stuart Streit CL Cyclones
Jake Byron LITH Thunder
Matthew Wolf CL Babe Ruth
Gerry McMaster CL Bombers
2011 Kirk Hanselmann LITH Thunder
David Van Vlierbergen CL Babe Ruth
Brett Kale LITH Thunder
Dillon O'Toole LITH Thunder
2010 Alex Dorsch MCYSA
Neil Groat CL Travelers
Tim Roth CL Babe Ruth
Will Streit CL Cyclones
Matt Szytz CL Cyclones
2009 Tom O'Connor CL Cyclones
Stephen Ladner CL Babe Ruth
Ricky Ames CL Babe Ruth
Ryan Melson Woodstock Lightning
2008 Brett S. Saladin CL Bombers
Jacob Banwart CL Cyclones
Michael Heesch CL Bombers
McHenry County Hurricanes
Bruno A. Surdo CL Cyclones
2007 Zach Banwart CL Cyclones
Mike Kreuger CL Babe Ruth
Gannon Sadzek CL Travelers
2006 Brian Taege CL Babe Ruth
Manuel DeMoya CL Babe Ruth
Patrick Schatz CL Cyclones
Patrick Carpenter CL Babe Ruth
Ben Bozer CL Babe Ruth
2005 Nathaniel Banwart CL Cyclones
Michael Digilio CL Babe Ruth
Justin Sheehy CL Travelers
2004 Clayton Chamberlain MC Hurricanes
Chase Sonen CL Babe Ruth
Patrick Tully CL Cyclones
Brett Wikierak CL Bombers
2003 Ben Dees CL Babe Ruth
Robert Steinsdoerfer CL Cyclones
CL. Bombers
Evan Thornberry CL Babe Ruth